Knittingpatterns.is at the Arctic handcraft and design show

Last spring I decided to apply for a stand at the Arctic handcraft and design show held in Hrafnagil just south of Akureyri. The show was held from the 9th to the 12th of august. I’ve never done anything like this before so it was a little bit like jumping into the deep end of the pool to see if one knows how to swim. But no matter what, I was determined to enjoy the experience  and have fun.

It takes a lot of planing to take part in a show like this. Of cause I used the computer to help me design the stand. I wanted to have the stand as a sort of chapel where the Lopa sweater would be like a candlestick on an altar. And I also wanted to display that my software can be used in many ways by having images of sweaters designed partly or fully in knittingpatterns.is.

The 3d CAD images of the stand.

This is what it looked like as a 3d model.

The image of the real thing.

And here is what it looked after 5 hours of labor.

On the big screen I had images of 2 sweaters with the same pattern and I had the computer come up with random color combinations on a short interval on one of them. And on longer interval the pattern was changed on both of them. You can see a short demo here:

The first day I had a computer turned to the audience for them to experiment, nobody used it so the rest of the show I got a bigger screen turned to the audience and the computer turned to me with the same content on both screens. I then held micro courses in the usages of knittingpatterns.is and that worked much better.

A lot of the guests had heard of knittingpatterns.is but never tested it, so I tried to bring them to the screen and as I started showing them how to use it more audience came to the stand.

I was very happy with the response I got from these micro courses, people that had not tested the program where surprised at what the program could do. I must of have held about 100 of these courses and in the end I was a bit tired but happy.

About 18.000 people visited the show and 100 exhibitors had stands there.

I got some feedback regarding the software and hopefully I will be able to respond to it soon. For example some wanted to be able to select more colors, so in response to that I have changed the color view so one can have as many colors as one like. One liked to have wider selection of stitch count over the shoulders and I have also implemented that. These changes will be available the next time I publish. One asked me if it would be possible to connect my program to a 3d printer and print out the sweater. Well maybe in the future, who knows. A Finnish version is on the way and hopefully the possibility to print out the pdf knitting instructions in German.

Now I’m thinking how I can bring knittingpatterns.is to tablets. I don’t have the answer but I know it is possible and it will take a lot of time and effort.

About Knittingpatterns

I'm developing software for knitters to design their own sweaters. It's easy, fun and free.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Knittingpatterns.is at the Arctic handcraft and design show

  1. Pingback: Home | MOHAMMAD ZAHIRUL ISLAM

Leave a Reply

